World No. 1 Falls As MVG Succeeds.

Red Dragon Darts

The German Grand Prix 2022 in Munich continued on Sunday as Second Round action began in the third Euro Tour of the year. Michael van Gerwen averaged 105.55 as he booked his place in Round 3, beating Chris Dobey 6-5 with a 93 checkout to seal the eleventh and decisive leg.

World Number one Peter Wright suffered a 6-5 defeat to Scott Waites, ending his campaign in Munich with the same fates for tournament number two Jose de Sousa who lost to Madars Razma in the afternoon, whilst Wesley Plaisier continued his impressive run in the competition as he knocked Joe Cullen out 6-4 in the afternoon to go through to face Dutch compatriot Dirk van Duijvenbode next.

Gerwyn Price has withdrawn from the competition because of illness, so youngster Keane Barry received a BYE into the third round on Monday. The Iceman had the opportunity to return to number one in the rankings but has opted to recover in time for the Premier League on Thursday, which will be in Aberdeen where he will face Michael van Gerwen.

Dynamite goes through to play Martin Lukeman in Round 3 after he beat an under performing Gabriel Clemens in Munich winning 6-3, with the German Number One averaging just 77.52 in the whole match.
Jonny Clayton came through a difficult Second Round encounter with Dave Chisnall in the afternoon session, winning 6-2 with a 102.32 average in a match that saw seven maximums with four for the Welshman.

The Ferret broke throw in the seventh leg with the highest checkout of the match, finishing 70 to take a 5-2 lead.

Luke Humphries returned to Germany and got back to winning ways, beating Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 despite averaging less than his Dutch opponent. Cool Hand won the opening Pro Tour of the year, as well as reaching the Semi Finals of Pro Tour Event 8 which was in Niederhausen back in March. Humphries finished 96 to win the tenth and final leg, despite de Zwaan hitting six maximums in the match.

Raymond van Barneveld’s run in Germany came to an end after losing 6-4 to Damon Heta, with The Heat hitting three maximums and averaging 99.73 on the oche. Heta included a 124 checkout in the first leg to break the Barney throw, as a double eleven finished the ton plus checkout to take the lead in Munich.

Max Hopp and Martin Schindler continued their runs in their home country as both made it through to the Last 16, beating two tournament seeds. Former German Number One Hopp came through a very tough test and beat former World Matchplay champion Dimitri van den Bergh 6-3 with four maximums for the Maximiser and a 50% double percentage rate.

Schindler beat Jermaine Wattimena on Saturday and has now taken Brendan Dolan out of proceedings in Munich as well, coming out a 6-5 winner on the oche after Dolan missed four match darts.
The Wall watched opponent Dolan miss three darts at tops before stepping up to hit double 16 with his first dart to go through and face Ryan Searle in Round 3 who averaged 100.2 in beating Danny Baggish 6-2.

Rob Cross will face Michael van Gerwen again on the European Tour, in the Last 16 this time after he beat Karel Sedlacek in the afternoon 6-3, with an average of 92.50 and a highest checkout of 95, which Voltage finished to break throw and win his first leg of the match after his opponent raced into a 2-0 lead.

Elsewhere, Michael Smith beat Berry van Peer 6-4 with a 100.90 average to reach the Third Round and face Luke Humphries, whilst Keegan Brown beat Callan Rydz in the opening match of the day to go through and face Jose de Sousa on Monday.

Action returns from midday in Munich with Keane Barry returning to the oche as he faces Martin Lukeman in the opening Last 16 encounter.

German Darts Grand Prix: Round 2 Results:

Keegan Brown 6-3 Callan Rydz (15)
Rob Cross (10) 6-3 Karel Sedlacek
Dirk van Duijvenbode (11) 6-5 Boris Krcmar
Madars Razma 6-4 Jose de Sousa (2)
Wesley Plaisier 6-4 Joe Cullen (6)
Luke Humphries (14) 6-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Martin Schindler 6-5 Brendan Dolan (8)
Jonny Clayton (5) 6-2 Dave Chisnall
Max Hopp 6-3 Dimitri van den Bergh (12)
Damon Heta (13) 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld
Martin Lukeman 6-3 Gabriel Clemens (16)
Gerwyn Price v Keane Barry (Barry receives BYE)
Scott Waites 6-5 Peter Wright (4)
Michael van Gerwen (7) 6-5 Chris Dobey
Ryan Searle (9) 6-2 Danny Baggish
Michael Smith (3) 6-4 Berry van Peer

German Darts Grand Prix: Round 3 Order of Play

Keane Barry v Martin Lukeman
Martin Schindler v Ryan Searle (9)
Scott Waites v Damon Heta (13)
Jonny Clayton (5) v Max Hopp
Madars Razma v Keegan Brown
Michael van Gerwen (7) v Rob Cross (10)
Michael Smith (3) v Luke Humphries (14)
Wesley Plaisier v Dirk van Duijvenbode (11)


Words: Harry Masterson

Images: PDC Europe


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here