Four claim Challenge Tour glory

By Joe Williams 04/09/2021

Martin Thomas, Matthew Dennant, Jose Justicia and Toni Alcinas were victorious on Friday in winning Events 7 & 8 of the PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour, across their respective fields in the UK and Europe, as the final weekend of the 2021 PDC second-tier tour season began in Milton Keynes and Niedernhausen.

UK Challenge Tour
In Event 7, it was Martin Thomas who was victorious with the Welshman dropping just 11 legs in reaching his 2nd final of the season, in recording victories over Connor Scutt, Russell Murphy, Daniel Day, Rhys Hayden, Robert Thornton and Reece Robinson, to set up a clash with Shaun McDonald. 

The final began with Thomas racing into a 2-0 lead, before McDonald halved the deficit in leg 3 with a 17 darter to make it 2-1. Thomas then moved within one of the title after winning back-to-back legs in 14 and 18 darts respectively, with McDonald needing to win four on the spin, without fail, to keep his title hopes alive. McDonald did pull one leg back with a 15 darter, before Thomas sealed the victory in leg 7 to pick up a 1st Challenge Tour title of his career. 

In Event 8, it was Matthew Dennant who was victorious in picking up a 3rd career Challenge Tour title, after he dropped just 9 legs in reaching the final after recording victories over Adam Jenkinson, John Bowles, Darren Johnson, Jamie Lewis, Rhys Hayden, Jason Hogg and Richie Burnett, to set up a clash with Darren Beveridge. 

Nothing separated Dennant and Beveridge in the final, with the pair breaking each other’s throw for the opening two legs before a run of six straight holds of throw to take the tie all the way, with Dennant breaking throw in the decider to clinch the victory in 21 darts to pick up a 3rd PDC title and a first since January 2020. 

European Challenge Tour

In Event 7, it was Jose Justicia who was victorious, with the former Tour Card Holder dropping just 11 legs to reach the decider, as he recorded victories over Kristiaan De Boer, Matt Campbell, Marvin Van Velzen, Steven Noster, Rowby-John Rodriguez and Damian Mol, to set up a clash with Germany’s Niko Springer. 

The final began with Springer taking the opener in 18 darts, before Justicia took complete control of the tie, in rattling off five legs on the spin, without fail, with winning legs in 18,15,18,17 and 15 darts respectively to clinch the victory and pick up a 1st title within the PDC.

In Event 8, it was Justicia’s fellow Spaniard, Toni Alcinas who was victorious, in dropping 14 legs to reach the decider, as he recorded victories over Erik Tautfest, Martijn Dragt, Niko Springer, Marvin Van Velzen and Rowby-John Rodriguez, to set up a clash with Jimmy Hendriks. 

In the final, Alcinas dominated Hendriks and didn’t give him a sniff, in whitewashing him 5-0, which saw him rattle off legs in 15, 15, 17, 18 and 18 darts respectively, to pick up a 1st career Challenge Tour title. 

PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour weekend continues on Saturday with Events 9 & 10 taking place in Milton Keynes and Niedernhausen, with all live scores and results to be viewed at

PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour
UK Event 7
Quarter Finals
Shaun McDonald 5-3 Jamie Clark
Steve Hine 5-2 Lloyd Pennell 
Martin Thomas 5-4 Robert Thornton
Reece Robinson 5-2 Justin Smith 

Semi Finals
Shaun McDonald 5-4 Steve Hine
Martin Thomas 5-0 Reece Robinson 

Martin Thomas 5-2 Shaun McDonald

UK Event 8 
Quarter Finals
Richie Burnett 5-4 Nathan Rafferty
Matthew Dennant 5-0 Jason Hogg
Keelan Kay 5-2 David Wawrzewski 
Darren beveridge 5-1 Adam Huckvale

Semi Finals
Matthew Dennant 5-2 Richie Burnett
Darren Beveridge 5-1 Keelan Kay 

Matthew Dennant 5-4 Darren Beveridge 

European Event 7 
Quarter Finals
Jose Justicia 5-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Damian Mol 5-4 Jeremy Van der Winkel 
Davy Proosten 5-3 Franz Roetzsch 
Niko Springer 5-2 Gian Van Veen 

Semi Finals
Jose Justicia 5-2 Damian Mol 
Niko Springer 5-3 Davy Proosten 

Jose Justicia 5-1 Niko Springer

European Event 8 
Quarter Finals
Toni Alcinas 5-2 Marvin Van Velzen 
Rowby-John Rodriguez 5-4 Wesley Plaisier 
Jimmy Hendriks 5-3 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Kenny Neyens 5-1 Arjan Konterman 

Semi Finals
Toni Alcinas 5-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez 
Jimmy Hendriks 5-2 Kenny Neyens 

Toni Alcinas 5-0 Jimmy Hendriks



RedDragon Advert

Related Articles

Lauby triumphs as CDC thrives

North American organisation proves resilient during difficult times

Stayin' Alive: Beaton's battle

Legendary figure engaged in his biggest fight yet

MODUS Live League: Barstow is latest champion!

Jarred Cole edged out in decider

MVG halts Fallon's bandwagon

Mighty Mike claims Nordic Masters crown

This website uses cookies to track session information