Modra added to Satellite Tour winners list

By Editorial Staff 08/06/2021

Rob Modra picked up both of last weekend’s DPA Satellite Tour events in South Australia extending his winning run to four. Bill Aitken and Matt Mullen tasted success in the Queensland area bubble events.

This year’s DPA circuit has been split into regional bubbles and in addition to the prize fund and competition offered the tour will determine who will qualify for the 2022 PDC World Darts Championship.

Lockdown in Victoria prevented action from continuing in that 'bubble' but the third weekend in South Australia, and fourth in Queensland, went ahead Kadina and Brisbane.

Saturday’s event in South Australia witnessed an in-form Modra pass through the group phase for the loss of just one leg. The veteran then saw off Amanda Loch in the quarter-finals and John Nottage in the semis.

Scott Hallett went one better than his previous 2021 best winning five of his six group games claiming two knockout phase scalps to reach the final.

Modra, a former Australian Open, Master snd Matchplay winner, won the final 5-2 with an average of 76.7.

The following day saw Modra and Hallett again reached the final pairing with a reversal looking on the cards. Hallett raced into a 3-0 lead and Modra’s dominant run looked in danger, but the vastly experienced ‘The Remedy’ bounced back and took the title in a decider after a truly excellent final.

Meanwhile,  Queensland’s seventh event of the year saw another thrower to have played at Alexandra Palace, James Bailey, make the semi-finals.

Bailey was edged out in the last four by KY Smith. But couldn’t turn it into a title as Aitken won 5-3, averaging 79.5.

On Sunday Jamie Rundle produced a tremendous performance and a 107 average in the last 16 against Jackson Davies. He then beat Robbie King in the qtrs.

Mullen put an end to Rundle’s run with a 4-2 semi-final victory, while James Bailey’s disappointing weekend ended with a deciding leg defeat to Mick Lacey.

Lacey’s third Satellite Tour final of 2021 resulted in a third defeat, this time to Mullen who claimed the title 5-2, averaging 92 overall including a 12 darter.

The busy DPA circuit 'moves' to the Port Kennedy Tavern in Western Australia this coming weekend as we move toward the end of the regular season.

Queensland Bubble
Event Seven
Corey Naumann 2-4 Chris Krabbe
Bill Aitken 4-2 Dean Dixon
Ky Smith 4-1 Ethan Kibbey
James Bailey 4-0 Paul O’Malley

Chris Krabbe 2-4 Bill Aitken
Ky Smith 4-2 James Bailey

Bill Aitken 5-3 KY Smith

Event Eight
Robbie King 1-4 Jamie Rundle
Matt Mullen 4-2 Chris Krabbe
Bill Aitken 2-4 Mick Lacey
James Bailey 4-1 Raymond O’Donnell

Jamie Rundle 2-4 Matt Mullen
Mick Lacey 4-3 James Bailey

Matt Mullen 5-2 Mick Lacey

South Australia Bubble
Event Five
John Nottage 4-3 Laurie Loch
Rob Modra 4-2 Amanda Loch
George Creasey 4-0 Matt Williams
Scott Hallett 4-0 Bradley Clothier

John Nottage 0-4 Rob Modra
George Creasey 2-4 Scott Hallett

Rob Modra 5-2 Scott Hallett

Event Six
Scott Hallett 4-1 Matt Williams
Andy Pinder 4-0 Phillip Rowland
Rob Modra 4-1 Amanda Loch
George Creasey 4-1 John Nottage

Scott Hallett 4-0 Andy Pinder
Rod Modra 4-2 George Creasey

Scott Hallett 4-5 Rob Modra



RedDragon Advert

Related Articles

Fallon and Lisa return to the palace

Pair dominate the latest Women's Series

Ashton books Wolverhampton return

Ashton claims spot via Women's Series

Live League: Furness's four from five

Champions Weeks kicks off for phase 5

Smith clinches last day title

Bully boy overcomes Ross Smith as Razmar hits back to back 9-darters

This website uses cookies to track session information