Price turns off the Heta

By Joe Williams 13/11/2020

GERWYN Price was victorious on Thursday as he won Players Championship 21 with an 8-6 victory against Damon Heta.

Price, who had picked up seven titles in 2020, began the day by receiving a bye for the second day in a row due to Gary Anderson pulling out from a knee injury.

Price began his run with a 6-5 scare against Reece Robinson and coming from behind to win which was followed by wins against Gavin Carlin and Jeff Smith and dropping just one leg in the process to reach the last eight. 

At that stage, he defeated former Lakeside Champion Stephen Bunting 6-4 before a 7-3 win over William O’Connor, who had defeated Price’s World Cup Partner Jonny Clayton earlier in the day, to secure his place in the final. 

The final began with the pair breaking each other’s throw in the opening two legs with an 11 dart start from Price before a 20 dart break back from Heta. 

There were then eight consecutive breaks of throw before Price broke in the 11th leg in 14 darts to go ahead and go within two of victory. 

Heta then broke back in 14 darts before Price broke again in the following leg in 18 darts to go within one of victory and would have the advantage of throwing first. 

Nervy moments in the 14th leg as the pair both missed a number of darts for the leg before it then turned out to be the final leg of the match as Price finally won the leg in 21 darts on double two to clinch the victory and pick up a fourth Players Championship title of the year. 

Heta’s run to a second PDC Ranking final of the year saw him start the day with a win against two time World Champion Adrian Lewis 6-5 before recording wins against Niels Zonneveld, Justin Pipe, Ross Smith, Krzysztof Kciuk and Callan Rydz to set up a final decider with Price. 

Unable to win a second PDC Title in the space of two months but plenty of positives going into the final two days of the Winter Series and for the Grand Slam of Darts, which Heta will make his debut.  

Elsewhere, there were quarter-final runs for 2020 Players Championship Event winners Ian White and Ryan Searle as well as a first Pro Tour Semi Final appearance for Callan Rydz, who lost out to Heta. 

There were early exits on the day for the likes of World Champion Peter Wright, nine-time major champion James Wade, Former World Champion Rob Cross as well as Dave Chisnall, Krzysztof Ratajski and Devon Petersen. 

The Winter Series continues on Friday with Day four and Players Championship 22 taking place with play beginning at 14:00 GMT and the event will be broadcasted across two streaming boards on PDC.TV as well as via bookmakers’ websites worldwide and all games will be shown on 


Players Championship 21

Last 16 

Gerwyn Price 6-0 Jeff Smith 

Stephen Bunting 6-4 Jan Dekker

Ryan Searle 6-4 Madars Razma

William O’Connor 6-5 Jonny Clayton

Callan Rydz 6-5 Simon Whitlock 

Ian White 6-3 Vincent Van der Voort

Krzysztof Kciuk 6-3 Nathan Aspinall

Damon Heta 6-4 Ross Smith 

Quarter Finals

Gerwyn Price 6-4 Stephen Bunting 

William O’Connor 6-3 Ryan Searle

Callan Rydz 6-2 Ian White

Damon Heta 6-2 Krzysztof Kciuk 

Semi Finals

Gerwyn Price 7-3 William O’Connor 

Damon Heta 7-5 Callan Rydz


Gerwyn Price 8-6 Damon Heta 

Pictures by Taylor Lanning


RedDragon Advert

Related Articles

Gerwyn Price: Next World Champion?

Can Welshman grab the big one at Ally Pally

Will MVG stop the title rot?

The latest betting guide to Players Championship

Hedman is 6th woman to secure PDC Worlds place

Legend joins Ashton in showpiece next month

De Sousa gets video congrats from Mourinho

The Special Ones meet on screen

This website uses cookies to track session information