Rooster claims Derbyshire Online Double

By Alan Towe 02/04/2021

AMAZINGLY since its inception the Derbyshire Darts Online League has already completed its seventh successful season in which the standard of play just got better and better. The Premier Division title went to one of Derbyshire’s finest Darron ‘The Rooster’ Brown. 

Brown took the title for a second time with a total of 87 points, three more than runner-up Darren Layden who had a final nine point’s advantage over third placed Dale Gadsby. Eleven points was the difference between the top two players in Division One as Ian Richardson wrapped up the title with 95 points and his nearest rival Mark Sabin had 84. Bill Schooley was a further six points adrift on 78 and finished third.

Steve Arkwright was the Division Two champion ending his campaign with 90 points and a nine point lead over second placed Adam Webster who in turn was six points to the good over third in the table Chris Hilton. Division Three was a very close run affair with just one point separating the top three players. With 90 points Frankie Foster won the division but only just as Rose Mort claimed the runnersup spot with the same 90 points. Jason Brealey finished third in the table, his 89 points just one short of the two players above him.

In addition to the four divisions the league also run their FA Cup in which all 74 players participate. The quarter-finals saw 5-3 wins for Henry Coates and Paul Baker over respective opponents Colin Dymond and Wayne Pepper while Darron Brown and Stuart Barrowcliffe in turn recorded 5-2 wins over Darren Layden and Chris Bradshaw. Both semis finished with 5-2 scorelines as Darron Brown beat Stuart Barrowcliffe and Henry Coates accounted for Paul Baker. Continuing with the best of nine legs format the final saw Darron Brown make it a fabulous double as he added the F.A. Cup title to his already won Premier Division title winning 5-3 against young Henry Coates.

Season eight gets underway on Saturday, January 30 and for the new season a further competition will be added to the fixture card as “The Boom Boom Cup” will be introduced in loving memory of one of Derbyshire’s much loved and respected players David Allcock who sadly passed away recently. It is hoped that the 74 entries for season seven will be surpassed for season eight and the league expand even further.


Full Results: F.A Cup:-

Round One (Last 128 Best of 9 Legs) Owen Thomas 5 Craig Freeman 2, Darren Griffiths 5 Ryan Clarke 2, Jason Brealey 5 Connor Moss 3, Darran Sinfield 5 Shane Robinson 2, Paul Coward 5 Matt Wheatcroft 1, Andy Marriott 5 Lee Bridges 0, Lee Arkwright 5 Ryan Barton 0, Dale Gadsby 5 Gary Burch 4, Adam Webster – bye, Amy Eyre – bye, Andrew Houghton – bye, Andy Copeland – bye, Andy Tootill – bye, Ben Turner – bye, Bill Schooley – bye, Callum Briddon – bye, Carl Charnock – bye, Carl Coulthard – bye, Chris Bradshaw – bye, Chris Hilton – bye, Chris Sharp – bye, Colin Dymond – bye, Damian Donoghue – bye, Darren Layden – bye, Darron Brown – bye, Debbie Caven – bye, Frankie Foster – bye, Gordon Toft – bye, Henry Coates – bye, Ian Cross – bye, Ian Richardson – bye, Jack Ford – bye, Jack Kerr – bye, Jeffrey Edwards – bye, Jordan Beresford – bye, Josh Bridges – bye, Josh Wilmot – bye, Keith Lodge – b bye, Kevin Reddington – bye, Mark Sabin – bye, Mark Strickland – bye, Martin Courtney – bye, Mason Evans – bye, Matt Bryan – bye, Matthew Fairey – bye, Michelle Adkin – bye, Mick Evans – bye, Nigel Daniels – bye, Paul Baker – bye, Paul Holman – bye, Pete Burgoyne – bye, Pete Hadfield – bye, Richard Bloomfield – bye, Rose Mort – bye, Roy Clarke – bye, Russ Sharp – bye, Sam Revill – bye, Sean O’Brien – bye, Steve Arkwright – bye, Steve Coward – bye, Stuart Barrowcliffe – bye, Vicky Henshaw – bye, Wayne Pepper – bye, Winston Holt – bye.

Round Two (Last 64 Best of 9 Legs) Colin Dymond 5 Jack Kerr 1, Adam Webster 5 Andy Tootill 3, Darran Sinfield 5 Carl Coulthard 0, Andy Copeland 5 Josh Bridges 0, Sam Revill 5 Russ Sharp 3, Dale Gadsby 5 Nigel Daniels 1, Ian Richardson 5 Callum Briddon 0, Ian Cross 5 Winston Holt 1, Chris Bradshaw 5 Roy Clarke 0, Stuart Barrowcliffe 5 Mason Evans 1, Andy Marriott 5 Mark Strickland 1, Matthew Fairey 5 Ben Turner 2, Andrew Houghton 5 Jason Brealey 0, Steve Arkwright 5 Chris Sharp 3, Henry Coates 5 Owen Thomas 2, Pete Burgoyne 5 Mick Evans 0, Frankie Foster 5 Debbie Caven 0, Richard Bloomfield 5 Michelle Adkin 1, Rose Mort 5 Jordan Beresford 4, Jeffrey Edwards 5 Jack Ford 2, Mark Sabin 5 Vicky Henshaw 0, Paul Baker 5 Pete Hadfield 4, Keith Lodge 5 Matt Bryan 1, Wayne Pepper 5 Kevin Reddington 0, Darren Layden 5 Amy Eyre 0, Carl Charnock 5 Chris Hilton 4, Lee Arkwright 5 Steve Coward 1, Gordon Toft 5 Damian Donoghue 0, Josh Wilmot 5 Sean O’Brien 2, Bill Schooley 5 Darren Griffiths 4, Darron Brown 5 Paul Coward 3, Martin Courtney 5 Paul Holman 0.
Round Three (Last 32 Best of 9 Legs) Wayne Pepper 5 Rose Mort 0, Henry Coates 5 Andy Copeland 0, Darron Brown 5 Josh Wilmot 0, Ian Richardson 5 Pete Burgoyne 4, Darren Layden 5 Adam Webster 0, Dale Gadsby 5 Keith Lodge 1, Andrew Houghton 5 Sam Revill 1, Paul Baker 5 Mark Sabin 3, Colin Dymond 5 Gordon Toft 4, Frankie Foster 5 Matthew Fairey 4, Martin Courtney 5 Jeffrey Edwards 0, Stuart Barrowcliffe 5 Andy Marriott 0, Steve Arkwright 5 Carl Charnock 2, Chris Bradshaw 5 Richard Bloomfield 1, Bill Schooley 5 Ian Cross 1, Lee Arkwright 5 Darran Sinfield 0.
Round Four (Last 16 Best of 9) Darren Layden 5 Dale Gadsby 4, Chris Bradshaw 5 Ian Richardson 2, Henry Coates 5 Andrew Houghton 3, Colin Dymond 5 Frankie Foster 3, Darron Brown 5 Steve Arkwright 3, Stuart Barrowcliffe 5 Martin Courtney 2, Wayne Pepper 5 Lee Arkwright 4, Paul Baker 5 Bill Schooley 0
Quarter-Finals (Best of 9 Legs) Henry Coates 5 Colin Dymond 3, Paul Baker 5 Wayne Pepper 3, Darron Brown 5 Darren Layden 2, Chris Bradshaw 2 Stuart Barrowcliffe 5.
Semi-Finals (Best of 9 Legs) Darron Brown 5 Stuart Barrowcliffe 2, Henry Coates 5 Paul Baker 2.

Final (Best of 9 Legs) Darron Brown 5 Henry Coates 3.



RedDragon Advert

Related Articles

Modus Live League: Warren struggles as Monk eases on

Owen and Baker settling in well as big names stumble

Aspinall heads Premier League horserace

A rythmic review of the runners and riders

R-ageing Bulls added to field

Jenkins and Manley join the herd

Folly to dismiss MvG

Dutch superstar deserves a fair go

This website uses cookies to track session information