Dutch Quartet Play On in Zwolle

Red Dragon Darts Logo

Danny Jansen edged out Van der Voort on the Dutch Darts Championship’s opening day. The youngster joins a crop of four home players who won through.

Jansen survived match darts to edge out Vincent van der Voort in a dramatic all-Dutch clash on day one of Jack’s Dutch Darts Championship in Zwolle on Friday.

Rising star, Jansen continued his remarkable emergence with a tense victory over Dutch icon Van der Voort in their first round tie at the IJsselhallen.

Jansen fought back from 4-2 and 5-4 down, surviving three match darts in the penultimate leg, to set up a second round meeting with Michael Smith.

Dutch duo Jermaine Wattimena and Danny Noppert progress to Saturday’s second round thanks to wins over Rene Eidams and Arjan Konterman.

Wattimena defeated Eidams 6-3 to set up a round two clash with world number one Peter Wright, while Noppert whitewashed Konterman 6-0 to set up a meeting with Martin Schindler.

One of the ties of round two will see Michael van Gerwen face Jelle Klaasen after two-time ProTour event winner Klaasen thrashed Sebastian Bialecki 6-1.

However, Dutch trio Martijn Kleermaker, Niels Zonneveld and Wesley Plaisier crashed out at the hands of Callan Rydz, Mickey Mansell and Andrew Gilding respectively.

Mervyn King will take on world number two Gerwyn Price thanks to a 6-4 defeat of Stefan Bellmont, while Simon Whitlock saw off Jamie Hughes 6-3 to set up a tie with Joe Cullen.

Dutchman Dirk van Duijvenbode is among the 16 seeded players to enter on Saturday and he will face Mansell.

Saturday’s second round sees the 16 seeded players enter the action in Zwolle, before the tournament concludes on Sunday with the third round in the afternoon session ahead of the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in the evening session.

The tournament is being broadcast live on PDCTV, exclusively on DAZN in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, and through bookmakers’ websites worldwide.

PDCTV subscription options include Event Pass and Day Pass packages, as well as Annual and Monthly Subscriptions.

Click here to view match stats from all round one matches.

Schedule of Play
Friday May 27
First Round
Afternoon Session
Boris Krcmar 6-5 Steve Lennon
Ryan Meikle 6-1 Andy Boulton
Scott Waites 6-4 Connor Scutt
Ross Smith 6-1 Kevin Burness
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Wesley Plaisier
Daniel Larsson 6-1 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Jelle Klaasen 6-1 Sebastian Bialecki
Ritchie Edhouse Bye

Evening Session
Mickey Mansell 6-5 Niels Zonneveld
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Rene Eidams
Mervyn King 6-4 Stefan Bellmont
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Jamie Hughes
Callan Rydz 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Danny Noppert 6-0 Arjan Konterman
Danny Jansen 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Madars Razma

Saturday May 28
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)
Krzysztof Ratajski v Andrew Gilding
Ryan Searle v Ross Smith
Damon Heta v Scott Waites
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Boris Krcmar
Nathan Aspinall v Daniel Larsson
Brendan Dolan v Callan Rydz
Martin Schindler v Danny Noppert
Jose de Sousa v Dave Chisnall

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Rob Cross v Ryan Meikle
Joe Cullen v Simon Whitlock
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Mickey Mansell
Peter Wright v Jermaine Wattimena
Michael van Gerwen v Jelle Klaasen
Gerwyn Price v Mervyn King
Michael Smith v Danny Jansen
Chris Dobey v Ritchie Edhouse

Sunday May 29
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)
Third Round

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Sunday’s games played in Draw Bracket order

All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.

Prize Fund
Winner: £25,000
Runner-up: £10,000
Semi-Finalists: £6,500
Quarter-Finalists: £5,000
Last 16 losers: £3,000

Last 32 losers: £2,000

Last 48 losers: £1,000

Total: £140,000

(NB: Seeded players who lose their last 32 match in the event will not be credited with prize money on to the Order of Merit, ProTour Order of Merit or European Tour Order of Merit, however they shall still receive full prize money payment.)


Images: Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here