World Cup Pairing Finalised

Red Dragon Darts

The 32 two-player pairings for the 2022 Cazoo World Cup of Darts have been confirmed ahead of June’s tournament in Germany.

Taking place at the Eissporthalle in Frankfurt from June 16-19, the 12th staging of the World Cup will see two-player teams representing their countries across four days in a combination of Doubles and Singles matches.

While many nations had already confirmed their two-player line-ups through various qualification events and criteria, nations whose players qualify via the PDC Order of Merit saw their line-ups confirmed on Monday May 30.

The 2021 event saw Peter Wright and John Henderson claim a second World Cup title for Scotland, with the duo set to defend their title this summer.

Four-time champions England and Netherlands will both be represented by new-look pairings.

Michael Smith and James Wade will line-up for England, while Danny Noppert and Dirk van Duijvenbode will team up for the Netherlands, with Michael van Gerwen missing the tournament due to arm surgery.

Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton will reunite for a fifth consecutive year to form the partnership which saw the trophy head to Wales in 2020.

Last year’s runners-up Mensur Suljovic and Rowby-John Rodriguez will join forces once again, while Dimitri Van den Bergh and Kim Huybrechts will bring passion to the stage for Belgium.

2019 runners-up Republic of Ireland will once again be represented by William O’Connor and Steve Lennon.

Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock will look to take the trophy home to Australia for the first time, as will Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan for Northern Ireland.

Gabriel Clemens and Martin Schindler are sure to receive vocal backing from the German-dominant crowd in Frankfurt.

Daniel Larsson’s run at the Jack’s Dutch Darts Championship last weekend in Zwolle saw him secure a place in the Sweden side to partner Johan Engstrom, with Dennis Nilsson missing out on qualification.

2022 Cazoo World Cup of Darts
Competing Nations & Pairings
Australia – Damon Heta & Simon Whitlock
Austria – Mensur Suljovic & Rowby-John Rodriguez
Belgium – Dimitri Van den Bergh & Kim Huybrechts
Brazil – Diogo Portela & Artur Valle
Canada – Jeff Smith & Matt Campbell
Czech Republic – Adam Gawlas & Karel Sedlacek
Denmark – Vladimir Andersen & Andreas Toft Jörgensen
England – Michael Smith & James Wade
Finland – Marko Kantele & Aki Paavilainen
Germany – Gabriel Clemens & Martin Schindler
Gibraltar – Justin Hewitt & Craig Galliano
Hong Kong – Lok Yin Lee & Ho Tung Ching
Hungary – Nándor Prés & Gergely Lakatos
Italy – Guiseppe Di Rocco & Gabriel Rollo
Japan – Tomoyo Goto & Toru Suzuki
Latvia – Madars Razma & Nauris Gleglu 
Lithiuania – Darius Labanauskas & Mindaugas Barauskas
Netherlands – Danny Noppert & Dirk van Duijvenbode
New Zealand – Ben Robb & Warren Parry
Northern Ireland – Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan
Philippines – Lourence Ilagan & RJ Escaros
Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski & Sebastian Bialecki
Portugal – Jose de Sousa & Vítor Jerónimo
Republic of Ireland – William O’Connor & Steve Lennon
Scotland – Peter Wright & John Henderson
Singapore – Paul Lim & Harith Lim
South Africa – Devon Petersen & Stefan Vermaak
Spain – Jose Justicia & Tony Martinez
Sweden – Daniel Larsson & Johan Engstrom
Switzerland – Stefan Bellmont & Thomas Junghans
USA – Danny Baggish & Jules van Dongen
Wales – Gerwyn Price & Jonny Clayton

Tickets for the Cazoo World Cup of Darts are on sale now through PDC Europe.

The Cazoo World Cup of Darts will be televised on Sky Sports for UK viewers, through the PDC’s international broadcast partners, including DAZN and Viaplay, and on PDCTV for Rest of the World Subscribers.

The draw for the Cazoo World Cup of Darts will be made in due course.

2022 Cazoo World Cup of Darts
Eissporthalle, Frankfurt
Session Schedule
Thursday June 16 (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
First Round x8

Friday June 17 (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
First Round x8

Saturday June 18
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)
4x Second Round

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
4x Second Round

Sunday June 19
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Semi-Finals & Final


Images: Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here