Wright Seeks to Fill Slam Sized Gap in Trophy Cabinet

Red Dragon Darts

Peter Wright will be looking to add another of the game’s major trophies to his already impressive list in the coming week.

Snakebite, a three-time runner-up in Wolverhampton, defeated Fallon Sherrock in an epic quarter-final clash 12 months ago, and the Scot will have to get past her again if he is to return to the world number one spot and lift a first Eric Bristow Trophy at the Aldersley Leisure Village.

“It would be really nice to add this title to my collection,” said Wright, who will also take on World Grand Prix runner-up Nathan Aspinall and his compatriot Alan Soutar in a mouth-watering Group E.

A double World Champion, who has also won The World Matchplay, UK Open and World Cup of Darts (twice), the Scotsman would dearly love to add the Premier League and lift the Eric Bristow Trophy. But this years campaign will not be easy:

“It’s a really tough group. Nathan has been one of the best players on tour this year, Alan has a brilliant record against me, and Fallon will be determined after performing so well last year.

“I’d like to be world number one before we go into the World Championship and that will be going through my head, but I’ve got to take each game as it comes.”

The 16th staging of the Grand Slam will see a star-studded 32-player field competing for a record-breaking £650,000 in prize money and the coveted Eric Bristow Trophy from November 12-20.

The tournament will be broadcast live on Sky Sports in the UK, through the PDC’s worldwide broadcast partners including DAZN and Viaplay, and on PDCTV (excluding UK, Ireland, Germany, Austria & Switzerland based subscribers).

2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts
Group Stage Draw
Group A
(1) Gerwyn Price
Dave Chisnall
Raymond van Barneveld
Ted Evetts

Group B
(8) Danny Noppert
Simon Whitlock
Mensur Suljovic
Christian Perez

Group C
(4) Michael Smith
Joe Cullen
Ritchie Edhouse
Lisa Ashton

Group D
(5) Rob Cross
Dirk van Duijvenbode
Martin Schindler
Adam Gawlas

Group E
(2) Peter Wright
Nathan Aspinall
Alan Soutar
Fallon Sherrock

Group F
(7) Jonny Clayton
Damon Heta
Jermaine Wattimena
Leonard Gates

Group G
(3) Michael van Gerwen
Ross Smith
Luke Woodhouse
Nathan Rafferty

Group H
(6) Luke Humphries
Ryan Searle
Josh Rock
Scott Williams


Images: PDC


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here