Quad Play

Red Dragon Darts Logo

As if to dismiss the fears of predictability that previously had been levelled at the PDC Women’s Series, the latest weekend produced four different winners and two brand new ones!

Beau Greaves and Rhian O’Sullivan picked up titles as the second weekend of 2023 PDC Women’s Series action began in Milton Keynes.

The teenage sensation came through a 118-player field to claim the £2,000 top prize in Event Five, relinquishing just seven legs en route to victory in Saturday’s opening event.

Greaves arrived in Milton Keynes having won 77 of her last 78 matches on the Women’s Series, and she continued that dominance to topple Fallon Sherrock 5-2 in the Event Five showpiece.

The pair traded holds in the early exchanges, but a run of three straight legs from Greaves midway through the tie catapulted her to a 12th Women’s Series crown in the space of 13 events.

Women’s World Matchplay champion Sherrock overcame Kirsi Viinikainen, Robyn Byrne and Kirsty Hutchinson in the latter stages of Event Five, averaging over 90 in all three matches to pocket the £1,000 runner-up prize – which takes her a step closer to sealing a Blackpool return in July.

O’Sullivan underlined her credentials and gave warning by posting a ton-plus average to whitewash Mikuru Suzuki during the first event of the day. The Swansea star built on that performance to secure her maiden Women’s Series crown in claiming event six.

Forty -two year old, twice a Lakeside Championship runner-u, reeled off three straight legs from 3-2 down to best Greaves in a gripping final and become the first Welsh player to triumph on the Women’s Series circuit.

Mikuru Suzuki and Robyn Byrne divided the day two titles the spoils as the year’s second weekend concluded on Sunday.

Twice a semi finalist previously the Irish woman Byrne went all the way this time.

The 25-year old became the second player of the weekend to win her first PDC Women’s Series title with success in Event Seven, defeating Laura Turner 5-1 in the final and boosted her chances of returning to the Betfred Women’s World Matchplay.

The top two players from the final PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit will qualify to compete in the 2023/24 World Darts Championship, alongside the winner of the 2023 Women’s World Matchplay. The top eight players on the rolling Women’s Series Order of Merit after Event 12 will qualify for the 2023 Betfred Women’s World Matchplay.

Japan’s Suzuki then defeated Sherrock 5-2 in the semi-finals, averaging 99 in the process, en route to her second title of 2023.

The Miracle, who averaged over 94 in three of her six games in Event Eight, sits in second place on the Women’s Series Order of Merit with £6,500 following the weekend at the Marshall Arena – with Greaves topping the rankings on £10,100.

Next up for the Women’s Series returns is June 24-25 at Halle 39 in Hildesheim, Germany.

Darts Database Super 8 ( DDB Logo)

1Beau Greaves£10,100

Mikuru Suzuki£6,500
3Rhian O’Sullivan£4,200
4Robyn Byrne£3,750
5Fallon Sherrock£3,000
6Lisa Ashton£2,050
7Noa-Lynn van Leuven£2,000
8Kim Holden£1,800


Originally published in Darts World Magazine (Issue 583)

Grab a  50th Anniversary Darts World package 581 here or the most recent print Issue 583 here :

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack/bundle.

Also Available Free: Darts World Extra 12 – The Hard Way

Catch up with our digital publication and read/download Darts World Extra 12 here

Darts World Magazine‘s fantastic value bundles:
Subscribe or purchase your copy


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here