Fallon Celebrates Honour With Womens Series Win

Red Dragon Darts Logo

Fallon Sherrock marked being named an MBE in King Charles III’s recent birthday honours with victory in the Womens Series this weekend.

Sherrock claimed today’s second event defeating Irish star Robyn Byrne 5-3 in the final. The Milton Keynes thrower had a difficult route to the final, overcoming: Deta Hedman, Lorraine Winstanley and Natalie Gilbert before defeating Aileen de Graaf in the semi-finals.

Beau Greaves had earlier continued her domination as the PDC Women’s Series continued with Events Nine and Ten in Hildesheim, Germany, on Saturday.

The reigning WDF Womens World champion claimed Saturday’s first event defeating two-time world champion Mikuru Suzuki who also continued her fine form with another final appearance in event 9.

The two tournaments – each worth £10,000 in prize money – will see the world’s top female players in action at Halle 39, including Beau Greaves, Mikuru Suzuki, Fallon Sherrock and Lisa Ashton.

The top eight players on the rolling 12-month Women’s World Matchplay Order of Merit following Sunday’s Event 12 will seal their place in July’s Betfred Women’s World Matchplay.

2023 PDC Women’s Series
Saturday June 24 – Halle 39, Hildesheim

Event Nine

Mikuru Suzuki 5-1 Laura Turner
Lisa Ashton 5-4 Fallon Sherrock
Beau Greaves 5-0 Crissy Manley
Corrine Hammond 5-2 Lorraine Hyde

Mikuru Suzuki 5-0 Lisa Ashton
Beau Greaves 5-1 Corrine Hammond

Beau Greaves 5-1 Mikuru Suzuki

2023 PDC Women’s Series
Saturday June 24 – Halle 39, Hildesheim

Sherrock made amends in Event Ten, closing out a resounding 5-2 win over Irish youngster Robyn Byrne to secure her 11th Women’s Series title – and her first of 2023.

Sherrock – recently awarded an MBE in the 2023 King’s Birthday Honours list – overcame a number of high-profile names to claim her first Women’s Series success since June 2022.

The 28-year-old opened her challenge with successive whitewash wins against Emma Winkelmann and Hedman, and a routine 4-1 victory over Lorraine Winstanley saw her advance to the last eight.

Sherrock recovered from 3-2 down to deny Natalie Gilbert in a scrappy quarter-final tie, before she accounted for Aileen de Graaf in a repeat of last year’s Women’s World Matchplay decider.

Byrne drew first blood in the Event Ten showpiece, but after reeling off three consecutive legs in 18, 14 and 15 darts, Sherrock powered to victory to cap off a memorable few weeks.

“That meant a lot,” reflected Sherrock. “Now I’ve got that one win, I feel like there’s some pressure off my shoulders.

“My form coming into this has been really good, but it’s a totally atmosphere when you come here, so it’s about getting back to basics, and hopefully going forward there’s more glimpses of my top form.

“If you had told me five years ago that I’d be getting an MBE for helping the sports of darts, I would never have believed it.

“I’m so proud of myself. I’m really thankful and hopefully it encourages more women to take up the sport, because look what the Women’s Series has done – the standard is better than ever.”

Sherrock’s Event Ten triumph saw her climb above Byrne on the Order of Merit, but the Irish youngster is poised to feature in July’s Women’s World Matchplay after another strong showing in Hildesheim.

Event Seven winner Byrne dumped out Ashton and Suzuki to reach her third Women’s Series final of 2023, and she also overcame Paula Jacklin, who ended Greaves’ bid for back-to-back titles in the last 16.

Sunday’s Women’s Series double-header will see Events 11-12 take place at Halle 39, with coverage streamed live on PDCTV from 0900 BST.

The top two players from the final PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit will qualify to compete in the 2023/24 World Darts Championship, alongside the winner of the 2023 Betfred Women’s World Matchplay.

The top eight players on the rolling Women’s Series Order of Merit after Event 12 will qualify for the 2023 Betfred Women’s World Matchplay, which takes place on Sunday July 23.

Lorraine Winstanley provisionally occupies the eighth and final spot with two events remaining, while Noa-Lynn van Leuven, Katie Sheldon and Laura Turner are among the chasing pack.

Event Ten

Aileen de Graaf 5-1 Priscilla Steenbergen
Fallon Sherrock 5-3 Natalie Gilbert
Mikuru Suzuki 5-2 Evonne Taylor
Robyn Byrne 5-2 Paula Jacklin

Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Aileen de Graaf
Robyn Byrne 5-4 Mikuru Suzuki

Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Robyn Byrne



Grab a copy of the 50th Anniversary Darts World 581 here or the new Issue 583 here :

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack/bundle.

Also Available Free: Darts World Extra 9 – Gezzy Nice

Darts World Magazine‘s fantastic value bundles:
Subscribe or purchase your copy


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Previous article
Next article

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here