Barney’s Back In Blackpool

Red Dragon Darts

Raymond van Barneveld sealed his return to the Betfred World Matchplay for the first time in five years with victory on the opening day of the Interwetten European Darts Matchplay in Trier on Friday.

Van Barneveld claimed a 6-3 victory over George Killington in the first round of the European Tour event, which was enough to book his return to Blackpool’s iconic Winter Gardens in July.

The 2010 World Matchplay runner-up will now face old rival Michael van Gerwen in a mouth-watering second round clash between the two Dutch giants on Saturday night.

“This was a vital win for me in my quest to qualify for the big TV events later this year,” said Van Barneveld, who returned to the professional circuit in 2021.

“I want to qualify for the World Matchplay, the World Grand Prix, the European Championship, so this is one of my goals achieved for this year.

“I will have to play much better to do anything against Michael in the next round, I will need to put a few points on my average.”

“The game is there; in practice I was hitting 180s and 140s but on stage I hit too may 60s, so that’s something I need to sort out for tomorrow.”

The 16 seeded players enter the tournament in Saturday’s second round, with World Champion Smith, world number three Van Gerwen and top seed Luke Humphries amongst the top stars in action.

The tournament is being broadcast live on Viaplay, DAZN and PDCTV (excluding Germany, Austria and Switzerland) and through bookmakers’ websites worldwide.

Click here for results & match stats.

2023 Interwetten European Darts Matchplay

Friday June 30

First Round

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Ryan Joyce 6-1 Ted Evetts

Vitezslav Sedlak 6-3 Daniel Klose

Gian van Veen 6-3 Christian Kist

Martin Lukeman 6-4 Graham Hall

Brendan Dolan 6-2 Connor Scutt

Andrew Gilding 6-4 Darryl Pilgrim

Mickey Mansell 6-3 Matt Campbell

Callan Rydz 6-3 Stephen Burton

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Marko Kantele 6-2 Liam Maendl-Lawrance

Ricardo Pietreczko 6-0 Fabian Herz

Keane Barry 6-2 Kim Huybrechts

James Wade 6-1 William O’Connor

Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 George Killington

Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Jose de Sousa

James Wilson 6-2 Simon Whitlock

Stephen Bunting 6-3 Luke Woodhouse

Saturday July 1

Second Round

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Dave Chisnall v Ryan Joyce

Josh Rock v Brendan Dolan

Rob Cross v Mickey Mansell

Damon Heta v Gian van Veen

Nathan Aspinall v Martin Lukeman

Dirk van Duijvenbode v Andrew Gilding

Joe Cullen v Vitezslav Sedlak

Ross Smith v Luke Woodhouse

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Jonny Clayton v James Wade

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Ricardo Pietreczko

Ryan Searle v Gabriel Clemens

Michael van Gerwen v Raymond van Barneveld

Michael Smith v Keane Barry

Luke Humphries v Marko Kantele

Martin Schindler v Callan Rydz

Danny Noppert v James Wilson


Images: Jonas Hunold / PDC Europe


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here