We’re Slammin’

Red Dragon Darts

SINCE its debut in 2007, the Grand Slam has held a special place for darts fans. Originally conceived as a non-ranked clash of the different ‘codes’ and organisations within darts, especially the PDC and BDO ( British Darts Organisation), the event has since evolved to instead include representatives from many branches of the game and give opportunity for youth and women players in particular. 

The GSoD has also become a ranking event (by the PDC) adding to the late-season rush of majors that count toward all of the Orders of Merit and can affect players’ careers dramatically.

It will not surprise you to know that Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor is the first name on the trophy, indeed he claimed the first three hostings. The fourth however provided a moment in darts history that is unlikely to be repeated:

Scott Waites was riding high in the BDO and had reached the final of the Grand Slam in 2009, only to be rudely halted by an imperious Taylor (16-2). But, ‘Too Hotty’ was not for giving in easily and again made the final in 2010. 

Despite being far adrift early on, he refused to give in and benefitted from James Wade’s total collapse to become the first and only non PDC player to win the crown.

The GSoD still provides a unique test. Early defeat is not fatal and players have a little time to settle. The need to be able to adapt to both a quick-fire group format and then, increasingly lengthy, straight match play formats is not easy and has ensured that only 7 players have held the trophy aloft in the 16 stagings so far.

The Grand Slam has produced some remarkable encounters, and never to be forgotten victories, who will be added to this list in 2023 and become only the 8th champion:

Roll of Honour ( 7 Winners):

2007 Phil Taylor def Andy Hamilton 18-11

2008 Phil Taylor def Terry Jenkins 18-9

2009 Phil Taylor def Scott Waites 16-2

2010 Scott Waites def James Wade 16-12

2011 Phil Taylor def Gary Anderson 16-4

2012 Raymond van Barneveld def Michael van Gerwen 16-14

2013 Phil Taylor def Robert Thornton 16-6

2014 Phil Taylor def Dave Chisnall 16-13

2015 Michael van Gerwen def Phil Taylor 16-13

2016 Michael van Gerwen def James Wade 16-8

2017 Michael van Gerwen def Peter Wright 16-12

2018 Gerwyn Price def Gary Anderson 16-13

2019 Gerwyn Price def Peter Wright 16-6

2020 Jose de Sousa def James Wade 16-12

2021 Gerwyn Price def Peter Wright 16-8

2022 Michael Smith def Nathan Aspinall 16-5


2008 James Wade 

2014 Kim Huybrechts  

2015 Dave Chisnall 

2018 Dimitri Van den Bergh  

2022 Josh Rock 

Qualifying Players 2023

TV Event Finalists, then European Tour Winners, then Players Championship winners (up to 16):

Michael Smith
Michael van Gerwen
Nathan Aspinall
Luke Humphries
Chris Dobey
Andrew Gilding
Peter Wright
Gerwyn Price
Jonny Clayton
Rob Cross
James Wade
Gary Anderson
Dave Chisnall
Krzysztof Ratajski
Ricardo Pietreczko
Dirk van Duijvenbode

PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifiers

Danny Noppert
Stephen Bunting
Ryan Searle
Nathan Rafferty
Damon Heta
Steve Lennon
Martijn Kleermaker
Brendan Dolan

Additional Qualifiers

Josh Rock – 2022 World Youth Champion
Nathan Girvan – 2022 World Youth Championship runner-up
Berry van Peer – 2023 Challenge Tour Order of Merit winner
Gian van Veen – 2023 Development Tour Order of Merit winner
Beau Greaves – 2023 Women’s World Matchplay winner
Fallon Sherrock – 2023 Women’s Series Order of Merit qualifier
Haruki Muramatsu – 2023 PDC Asian Championship winner
Stowe Buntz – 2023 CDC Continental Cup winner


Grab a 50th Anniversary Darts World package 581 here or the current print Issue 584 here :

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack/bundle.

Available Free: Darts World Extra 12 – The Hard Way

Catch up with our digital publication and read/download Darts World Extra 12 here

Darts World Magazine‘s fantastic value bundles:
Subscribe or purchase your copy


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here