New Trophy For Players Championship Finals

Red Dragon Darts Logo

The winner of the 2023 Cazoo Players Championship Finals will receive a specially-commissioned new trophy.

The new perpetual Players Championship Finals trophy has been created by award-winning jeweller & goldsmith Mike Shorer, who works with the PDC to provide bespoke trophies and awards.

The trophy features a dartboard design and a silver dart, and will be presented for the first time on Sunday night at Butlin’s Minehead Resort.

Shorer has previously created the Sid Waddell Trophy, which is presented to the PDC World Champion, see the story of its creation here, as well as the perpetual trophies used for the Premier League and World Grand Prix, PDC Hall of Fame and Player of the Year awards and the nine-dart pin badges presented to players who achieve a perfect leg.

The existing trophy, seen above with Kevin Painter has come in for some criticism over the years as it’s relatively diminutive stature can make it look almost toy like in climactic and post event images. Although the ‘Magnificent Seven’ who have won it don’t seem to have complained:

Roll of Honour (Winners x 7):

2009 Phil Taylor def Robert Thornton 16-9

2010 Paul Nicholson def Mervyn King 13-11

2011 Phil Taylor def Gary Anderson 13-12

2011 Kevin Painter def Mark Webster 13-9

2012 Phil Taylor def Kim Huybrechts 13-6

2013 Michael van Gerwen def Phil Taylor 11-7

2014 Gary Anderson def Adrian Lewis 11-6

2015 Michael van Gerwen def Adrian Lewis 11-6

2016 Michael van Gerwen def Dave Chisnall 11-3

2017 Michael van Gerwen def Jonny Clayton 11-2

2018 Daryl Gurney def Michael van Gerwen 11-9

2019 Michael van Gerwen def Gerwyn Price 11-9

2020 Michael van Gerwen def Mervyn King 11-10

2021 Peter Wright def Ryan Searle 11-10

2022 Michael van Gerwen def Rob Cross 11-6

The 2023 Cazoo Players Championship Finals will take place at Butlin’s Minehead Resort from November 25-27 – below are the ways you can watch live wherever you are in the world…


DAZN – GermanyAustria & Switzerland
DAZN – Spain
DAZN – USA & Brazil
Fox Sports – Australia
Nova – Czech Republic & Slovakia
Sport TV – Hungary
Setanta – Philippines
Setanta – Ireland
Sky – New Zealand
Viaplay – Baltic region
Viaplay – Iceland
Viaplay – Netherlands
VTM – Belgium
Viaplay – Poland
Viaplay – Scandinavia

PDCTV – Subscribers outside UK, Germany, Austria & Switzerland


Matches from Stage Two will be streamed live on PDCTV for all Subscribers – subscription options include Day and Weekend Passes

Images: PDC

Grab a 50th Anniversary Darts World package 581 here or the current print Issue 584 here :

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack/bundle.

Available Free: Darts World Extra 12 – The Hard Way

Catch up with our digital publication and read or download Darts World Extra 12 here

Darts World Magazine‘s fantastic value bundles:
Subscribe or purchase your copy


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here