Reaction: Luke’s Handed Premier League Debuts

Red Dragon Darts Logo

Reigning World Champion Luke Humphries and Runner Up Luke Littler will both make their debuts in the 2024 Bet MGM Premier League Darts, after the lineup was announced earlier today.

The darting roadshow, with a new title sponsor, will return to our screens on the 1st of February with the first week taking place in Cardiff, as it did 2 years ago.

Defending Champion Michael van Gerwen, Michael Smith, Gerwyn Price, Nathan Aspinall and Peter Wright all return after featuring last year, as well as a recall for 2019 Runner Up Rob Cross to complete the lineup.

The competition will head to 17 venues including the Mercedes Benz Arena in Berlin for Week 2, the 3 Arena in Dublin for Week 8 and Rotterdam Ahoy for Week 12 in April. Finals Night once again will be held at the O2 Arena, with £275,000 available to the winner of the tournament.

Michael van Gerwen claimed a record-breaking 7th Premier League title last year, moving ahead of Phil Taylor for most titles won in an event that started back in 2005. Mighty Mike stormed to three successive night wins in 2023, claiming glory in Dublin, Exeter, and Liverpool early in the competition.

Luke Humphries the new World Number 1 will get his first experience of the darting roadshow having been arguably unlucky to have not been awarded a place last year, but by winning 4 PDC Majors in 2023/24 there was little chance of him missing out again.

Gerwyn Price finished top of the Premier League 12 months ago to qualify for his first Finals Night and will hope to find similar form in a new look field for 2024.

The Iceman lost 11-5 in the Final against Michael van Gerwen but was the joint most victorious with Michael Smith in the league phase, having won 4 Nights in Cardiff, Nottingham, Newcastle, and Brighton.

Nathan Aspinall won the World Matchplay title back in July of last year and will want to avenge what happened in the 2023 Premier League where he narrowly missed out on a Play Off place to Jonny Clayton in Aberdeen.

The Premier League will start next month as 8 of the sports very best, go head-to-head fighting in different venues across Europe for £275,000 starting in the Welsh Capital.

2024 Bet MGM Premier League Darts Lineup:

Luke Humphries
Michael van Gerwen
Michael Smith
Nathan Aspinall
Gerwyn Price
Peter Wright
Rob Cross
Luke Littler


Images: PDC

Grab a 50th Anniversary Darts World package 581 here or the current print Issue 584 here :

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack/bundle.

Darts World Extra 14: Ally Pally Special – Download or read the full version FREE


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here