Back to Bahrain

Red Dragon Darts

The 2024 elite dart season will kick of from the rarefied climate of Bahrain this evening as 8 PDC Superstars take on 8 Asian Representatives as the World Series returns to our screens for 2024 at the Bahrain International Circuit. 

World Champion Luke Humphries will hope to extend his 19-match unbeaten television run, with Luke Littler also in action versus Man Lok Leung who impressed at the Ally Pally against another youngster in Gian van Veen. 

Cool Hand Luke defeated The Nuke 7-4 in the 2024 World Darts Championship Final including 23 180s, as he returns to the television stage for the first time since. The World Number 1 will face hometown player Abdulla Saeed in the Last 16 in one of two Bahrain internationals taking part. 

Michael Smith claimed the inaugural Bahrain Darts Masters 12 months ago, beating Gerwyn Price 8-6 in the Final to claim £20,000. Bully Boy will conclude the Last 16 action this year as he faces Paolo Nebrida for a place in the Quarter Finals. 

Former 2 Time World Champion Peter Wright will open the action against Haruki Muramatsu, hoping to return strongly after an early exit at the Alexandra Palace. Snakebite was successful on the World Series stage last year, having defeated Michael Smith, Michael van Gerwen and Gerwyn Price in his run to winning the Nordic Darts Masters. 

It remains to be seen which darts Peter will select on Thursday, with the Diamond Fusion Spectron SE Signature Series released during the Red Dragon 2024 Launch.

2023 Runner Up Gerwyn Price will hope to add to his World Series of Darts titles, defeating Jonny Clayton 8-4 to win the 2022 New Zealand Darts Masters, in his only win on the World Series stage so far. 

The Iceman was the most successful player on last year’s Pro Tour, winning 4 Players Championship Finals whilst reaching another Final where he lost a last leg decider against Ryan Joyce. 

The Red Dragon star will take on Reynaldo Rivera in the Last 16, with the Philippines international appearing at the 2024 World Darts Championship, losing 3-1 to Keane Barry in the 1st Round. 

Michael van Gerwen also competes and will hope to add Bahrain to his list of places in the world where he has won, with the rampant Dutchman claiming an impressive 15 World Series of Darts titles including the inaugural Poland Darts Masters last year. 

Mighty Mike will take on Hasan Haji: the other Bahrain international competing at the International Circuit, with both hometown players making their debuts on the World Series stage after Abdulnaser Yusuf and Bassim Mahmood featured last year. 

The action will start at 4pm UK Time in the first PDC staged competition since the conclusion of the 2024 World Darts Championship earlier this month. 

2024 Bahrain Darts Masters Draw: 

Luke Humphries v Abdulla Saeed 

Gerwyn Price v Reynaldo Rivera 

Nathan Aspinall v Lourence Ilagan 

Luke Littler v Man Lok Leung 

Michael van Gerwen v Hasan Haji 

Rob Cross v Tomoya Goto 

Michael Smith v Paolo Nebrida 

Peter Wright v Haruki Muramatsu 


Images: PDC/ BIC

Grab a 50th Anniversary Darts World package 581 here or the current print Issue 584 here :

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack/bundle.

Darts World Extra 14: Ally Pally Special – Download or read the full version FREE


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here