Women’s Series Register More Than 100 For Opening Weekend

Red Dragon Darts

2024 PDC Women’s Series begins this weekend, with over 110 players set to compete in the opening four events of the year at Wigan’s Robin Park Tennis Centre.

The 2024 PDC Women’s Series will see 24 events held across six weekends, including a total prize fund of £240,000 – with £2,000 on offer to the winner of each tournament.

The women’s game made further strides in 2023, with Beau Greaves and Fallon Sherrock both registering wins in November’s Grand Slam of Darts – the first time two women have ever tasted victory in the same televised ranking event.

Noa-Lynn van Leuven continued that progress last weekend triumphing on the Winmau Challenge Tour with a memorable victory on debut in Hildesheim.

The trio will headline this weekend’s action at the Robin Park Tennis Centre, as Events 1-4 take place from March 23-24.

Reigning Betfred Women’s World Matchplay champion Greaves secured a record-breaking 12 Women’s Series titles in 2023, which saw her surpass Lisa Ashton in becoming the most successful player in Women’s Series history.

The 20-year-old also made back-to-back quarter-finals on her Winmau Development Tour debut last month, reaffirming her credentials as one of the sport’s most exciting talents.

Sherrock – who lifted the inaugural Women’s World Matchplay title in 2022 – will also feature in Wigan, having won four of the last five Women’s Series events to round off the 2023 campaign.

The former Grand Slam quarter-finalist subsequently made her fourth World Darts Championship appearance in December, where she was joined by Japan’s Mikuru Suzuki.

Two-time Lakeside champion Suzuki will be another high-profile name in action this weekend, alongside four-time Lakeside winner Lisa Ashton, a winner of 15 Women’s Series titles.

Elsewhere, Aileen de Graaf, Rhian O’Sullivan and Robyn Byrne – all of whom competed in last year’s Women’s World Matchplay – are also amongst the 114 entrants.

Events 1-2 will take place on Saturday March 23, before Events 3-4 round off the weekend’s action on Sunday March 24, with live coverage available on PDCTV from approximately 1000 GMT.

The top two players from the final PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit will qualify to compete in the 2024/25 Paddy Power World Darts Championship, alongside the winner of the 2024 Betfred Women’s World Matchplay.

The top eight players on the rolling Women’s Series Order of Merit after Event 12 will qualify for the 2024 Betfred Women’s World Matchplay, which takes place on Sunday July 21 at the Winter Gardens.


Grab the current print issue 585 here  or a 50th Anniversary Darts World bundle 581 here 

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here