Fallon Continues Women’s Series Dominance

Red Dragon Darts Logo

Fallon Sherrock and Noa-Lynn van Leuven splt the opening days titles between them as the 2024 PDC Women’s Series got underway in Wigan on Saturday.

Saturday’s opening double-header saw 111 players in action at the Robin Park Tennis Centre, as Sherrock continued from where she left off last year.

The 29-year-old won four of the last five Women’s Series events in 2023, and she continued her recent monopoly of the circuit with Event One success.

Sherrock claimed the spoils with a deciding-leg win against Beau Greaves, surviving two match darts in the closing stages to secure a fourth consecutive victory over the Doncaster darter.

The Milton Keynes trailblazer had booked her place in the last eight with a trio of whitewash wins against Denise Cassidy, Jane Robson and Deta Hedman, while also seeing off Anca Zijlstra.

Sherrock then swept aside Kim Holden in the last eight, before reeling off five consecutive legs from 2-0 down to deny Irish youngster Katie Sheldon in the semi-finals.

Greaves also impressed in pocketing the £1,000 runner-up prize, posting a 101 average in her opening round demolition of Lainey Webb.

The reigning Women’s World Matchplay champion also accounted for Lisa Ashton and Van Leuven, before rallying from 4-2 down to edge out debutant Gemma Hayter in the semi-finals.

However, Van Leuven avenged the previous defeat to Greaves on her way to Event Two glory, producing a string of magnificent displays to celebrate her maiden PDC Women’s Series title.

The 27-year-old warmed up for this weekend’s action with victory on Winmau Challenge Tour debut in Hildesheim last week, and the Dutch thrower maintained that sparkling form on Saturday.

Van Leuven eased through to the last 16 without conceding a single leg, and fired in a superb 11-darter to complete a 5-3 win against Greaves in the quarter-finals.

The Dutch star then averaged 101 and hit six 180s to win through a high-quality semi-final showdown against Fallon Sherrock, which set up a showdown against Sheldon for the title.

Van Leuven drew first blood with a spectacular 170 checkout, and and then defied some late double trouble to wrap up a 5-2 win and boost her hopes of Betfred Women’s World Matchplay qualification.

“One of my goals is to get back on that stage, and I think it’s going well right now,” reflected Van Leuven, who was beaten by Greaves on her Blackpool bow 12 months ago.

“Last weekend I didn’t expect to win many games on the Challenge Tour and I went on to win the whole tournament.

“It gave me plenty of confidence, and to now win my first Women’s Series title is a great feeling.

“I played some really good games today but I was up against brilliant players, especially Beau and Fallon, so I’m really happy.”

Sheldon also boosted her hopes of a Blackpool return following an impressive start to the campaign, toppling former Lakeside winners Anastasia Dobromyslova and Mikuru Suzuki to reach the Event Two decider.

The top eight players on the rolling Women’s Series Order of Merit after Event 12 will qualify for the 2024 Women’s World Matchplay, which takes place on Sunday July 21 at the Winter Gardens.

Meanwhile, the top two players from the final PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit will qualify to compete in the 2024/25 Paddy Power World Darts Championship, alongside the winner of the 2024 Betfred Women’s World Matchplay.

The opening weekend of PDC Women’s Series action draws to a close with Events 3-4 on Sunday, with live coverage getting underway from approximately 1000 GMT on PDCTV.

2024 PDC Women’s Series

(Robin Park Tennis Centre Wigan)
Saturday March 23

Event One

Fallon Sherrock 5-1 Kim Holden
Katie Sheldon 5-3 Mikuru Suzuki
Beau Greaves 5-2 Noa-Lynn van Leuven
Gemma Hayter 5-2 Wendy Reinstadtler

Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Katie Sheldon
Beau Greaves 5-4 Gemma Hayter

Fallon Sherrock 5-4 Beau Greaves

Event Two

Fallon Sherrock 5-0 Lorraine Winstanley
Noa-Lynn van Leuven 5-3 Beau Greaves
Katie Sheldon 5-0 Anastasia Dobromyslova
Mikuru Suzuki 5-1 Angela Kirkwood

Noa-Lynn van Leuven 5-3 Fallon Sherrock
Katie Sheldon 5-4 Mikuru Suzuki

Noa-Lynn van Leuven 5-2 Katie Sheldon


Images: PDC

Grab the current print issue 585 here  or a 50th Anniversary Darts World bundle 581 here 

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here