Icons Bookend WADC’s Curtain Raiser as Stone Doubles Up

Red Dragon Darts Logo

THE Winmau Championship Tour got off to a flying start this weekend with 7 different winners, from 8 events, including the Queen of the Palace Fallon Sherrock and an impressive Sunday Double from Scotland’s Gary Stone.

The Championship Tour is the flagship tier of the Amateur Darts Circuit System which began in 2022. The events are known for substantial prize pots, high quality conditions and an annual finals event. 2024 appears no different.

The in-form Andy Boulton kickstarted proceedings with victory in the opening event, defeating compatriot Gary Stone in the Event 1 Final to claim the first £1000 on offer at Eston Sports Academy, Middlesbrough. 

The Ladies events are now operated under the separate banner (WADC) and once more attracted a stellar field, with the biggest names in the women’s game. The overall entries totalled over 90 which is a superb effort and a real base for the organisation to build from.

Two iconic Ladies bookended the opening WADC weekend with Fallon Sherrock claiming the first event and Deta Hedman showing all her experience to claim Event 4 on Sunday evening.

In between, veteran Sweden representative Vicky Pruim and Angela Kirkwood ensured that the Ladies events were shared amongst four separate players. 

Former World Youth Champion Bradley Brooks defeated former Lakeside World Champion Neil Duff 5-4 in Saturday’s Event 2 Final, to be ADC ‘s second Champion on Teesside. But Sunday would not see the sharing of titles.

Gary Stone went unbeaten on Day 2 of the opening weekend of the 2024 ADC Winmau Championship Tour, beating James Welding and Andy Boulton in the respective Finals to claim £2000. 

YouTube player

The 42-year-old beat Welding 5-3 in the opening Event of Easter Sunday, before clinching a last leg decider against recent Challenge Tour Double winner Andy Boulton in the Event 4 Final. 

Summary ADC:

Winners: Andy Boulton. Bradley Brook, Gary Stone x 2

Notable: Jack Tweddle averaged 107 in his first round match of event 3. Former World champion Neil Duff sits 4th despite failing to win an event after reaching multiple later stages. 

Order of Merit:

1 Gary Stone 88.62 40 +63 648

2 Andy Boulton 84.91 26 +44 387

3 Bradley Brooks  86.30 26 +24 290

4 Neil Duff 87.06 36 +51 210

5 James Welding 82.06 33 +33 196

6 Liam Goyne 86.02 34 +38 96

7 Dave Prins  80.22 28 +23 85

8 Kevin Lane 79.57 23 +18 84

Summary WADC:

Winners: Fammon Sherrock, Vicky Pruim, Angela Kirkwood and Deta Hedman

Notable: Lorraine Hyde was the player who gathered the most points despite not adding a title. She is fifth in the top 8 seeking to reach finals day.

Order of Merit: 

1 Vicky Pruim 74.14 36 +47 212

2 Angela Kirkwood 69.91 31 +38 208

3 Fallon Sherrock  82.27 39 +50 192

4 Deta Hedman 73.25 22 +23 154

5 Lorraine Hyde 66.39 26 +18 120

6 Samantha Kirton 69.69 26 +25 90

7 Kim Holden 66.07 26 +22 76

8 Eleanor Cairns 65.69 15 +7 73

Upcoming Events:

Winmau Championship Tours 5-8 and WADC Events 5-8 will return on the 25th and 26th of May at the Eston Sports Academy, with more ranking points and prize money on offer in the race to secure Top 8 places at the MODUS Live Lounge Finals Day’s later this year.

Grab the current print issue 585 here  or a 50th Anniversary Darts World bundle 581 here 

Click to Read or Download free Courtesy of Red Dragon Darts

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here