Aspinall and Smith Steeled For Sheffield Decider

Red Dragon Darts Logo

With one week now remaining in the BetMGM Premier League, it all comes down to a winner takes all Quarter Final at the Utilita Arena in Sheffield. 

Michael Smith and Nathan Aspinall meet in a 4th versus 5th clash in the 2nd Quarter Final, and with one point between them in the league table, the stakes for this contest couldn’t be any higher.

The pair have both reached the winners circle in regards night wins, with The Asp winning 2 in Rotterdam and Exeter, whilst the 2023 World Champion claimed the opening Night of the Darting roadshow in Cardiff. 

Smith came out as the winner between the pair on Night 15 in Leeds to reach the Semi Finals, ending a 6-3 successor including 4 180s and a 136 finish. 

Nathan though will have what happened last year on the back of his mind, enduring a much more successful campaign in 2024 despite not picking up a win in the opening three weeks.

The Asp missed out on Nights won in the league table to Jonny Clayton, despite beating The Ferret on the Final night in Aberdeen twelve months ago. 

For the World Matchplay Champion it’s much simpler in Sheffield, beat Michael Smith and he will complete the Play Off Lineup. 

Michael ended his campaign 2nd last year and for him it’s the same circumstances as his opponent. If Bully Boy reaches the Semi Finals, he will be the final player confirmed to be heading for the capital on the 23rd

Michael van Gerwen joined debutants Luke Littler and Luke Humphries in qualifying for the O2 after his run to the Final in Leeds, beating Gerwyn Price 6-3 in the Quarter Finals and Littler 6-1 in the Semi Finals. 

The Green Machine remains on track to claim a third consecutive Premier League title, having become the most successful player in the competition with his win in London last year. 

Luke Littler will secure top spot should he beat Peter Wright in the opening Quarter Final of the night, with 2nd placed Luke Humphries needing a Snakebite win and to claim a 5th Night victory in Sheffield, if he is to top the table. 

Gerwyn Price, Rob Cross and Peter Wright will all hope to end their campaigns on a high, and if it goes on previous form since the format changed, then expect a new winner on Night 16. 

In 2022: Michael Smith claimed his maiden Night win of the campaign at the O2, whilst Dimitri van den Bergh won on Night 16 for the first time in Aberdeen 12 months ago. 

The action will commence from the Utilita Arena in Sheffield from 7pm, as we find out which four players will reach the Play Offs in the 2024 BETMGM Premier League. 

2024 BETMGM Premier League: Night 16 Order of Play: 

Quarter Finals: 

Luke Littler v Peter Wright 

Nathan Aspinall v Michael Smith 

Luke Humphries v Gerwyn Price 

Michael van Gerwen v Rob Cross 

Semi Finals: 

Littler/ Wright v Aspinall/ Smith 

Humphries/ Price v Van Gerwen/ Cross 


Winner of SF1 v Winner of SF2

Premier League Table: 

  1. Luke Littler: 38pts
  2. Luke Humphries: 33pts 
  3. Michael van Gerwen: 27pts 
  4. Nathan Aspinall: 25pts
  5. Michael Smith: 24pts
  6. Rob Cross: 17pts
  7. Gerwyn Price: 12pts
  8. Peter Wright: 4pts


Images: PDC

Grab the current print issue 585 here or a Darts World Membership Subscription Here

The DW-50 Anniversary Special Edition Darts Set (Designed by AIM & Made by Winmau) buy HERE
Click to read Darts World Extra 16, FREE, with Red Dragon Darts HERE


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here