Dream Maker Doubles Up For 2024 On Pro Tour

Red Dragon Darts

Dimitri Van den Bergh doubled his 2024 title tally at Players Championship 12 in Hildesheim on Wednesday, defeating Matt Campbell 8-3 in the final.

Just over three months on from winning the UK Open, Van den Bergh clinched his third Players Championship title and a first since 2021.

The £15,000 top prize sees the Belgian rise three places to seventh on the PDC Order of Merit.

“I’m delighted to be standing here as the winner, but I don’t know how I’ve done it,” admitted Van den Bergh, the 12th different winner in as many 2024 Players Championship events.

“I’ve been hitting huge averages and losing, so to play nowhere near my best and win a title is something I just can’t explain.

“The whole day I’ve been battling, I never give up.

“It’s been a while since I won a Players Championship title so it’s a nice feeling to get that off my back.”

Van den Bergh began the day with wins over Martin Schindler and Maik Kuivenhoven, before averaging just shy of 100 in a 6-1 rout of fellow-Belgian Mike De Decker.

A 6-3 success over Dom Taylor saw him reach the quarter-finals, where he overcame Boris Krcmar by the same scoreline.

The former World Matchplay champion saw off Madars Razma 7-3 in the semi-finals, before battling back from 3-1 down to beat Campbell in a scrappy final.

Campbell, who won the North American Darts Championship at the start of June and will compete for Canada in the World Cup of Darts at the end of the month, took the scalps of Danny Noppert and Ross Smith on his way to a second ranking event final.

Elsewehere, Krcmar landed the third nine-dart leg across the two days of Players Championship action at Halle 39, hitting perfection in a 6-3 win over Robert Grundy in round three.

The 2024 PDC ProTour season continues with the NEO.bet European Darts Open in Leverkusen across June 21-23, with live coverage through DAZN (for viewers in Germany, Austria and Switzerland) and Viaplay.

Coverage will also be shown on PDCTV (excluding Germany, Austria and Switzerland) and through bookmakers’ worldwide.

The event draw and results are listed in the Match Centre.

Click here for match stats through DartConnect.

2024 Players Championship 12

Wednesday June 12

Last 16

Boris Krcmar 6-2 Haupai Puha

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Dom Taylor

Madars Razma 6-4 Andy Baetens

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Kai Gotthardt

Richard Veenstra 6-4 Ricky Evans

Matt Campbell 6-5 Gian van Veen

Danny Noppert 6-3 Peter Wright

Keane Barry 6-5 Ryan Meikle


Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Boris Krcmar

Madars Razma 6-3 Michael van Gerwen

Matt Campbell 6-5 Richard Veenstra

Danny Noppert 6-4 Keane Barry


Dimitri Van den Bergh 7-3 Madars Razma

Matt Campbell 7-4 Danny Noppert


Dimitri Van den Bergh 8-3 Matt Campbell


Image: PDC


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here