Magnificent McEwan Moves Into Finals Night

Red Dragon Darts

Former Champions Week winner Jim McEwan secured his spot-on Saturday night at the MODUS Super Series after a fantastic display on Day 3, dropping just three legs in completing a perfect day. 

“Chucky” has been the player to catch in Group A over the course of the week so far, including an impressive opening win on Day 3 against Brian Raman, averaging 105.47 in a 4-0 win, missing just 2 darts at double and hitting a 127 finish in the final leg. 

The Scotsman then picked up a second successive whitewash, this time against former Lakeside World Champion Neil Duff, scoring 96.97 in the contest. 

McEwan dropped just two legs in his third match of the day against ADC Qualifier Paul Lewis, with both players impressing on the outer ring, as neither missed a dart at double. 

Jim wrapped up a third whitewash win to secure a place at Finals Night in Portsmouth this Saturday, beating an out of sorts Scott Taylor 4-0 in his penultimate game. 

The Series 5 Champions Week winner ended his campaign with 24 points out of a possible 30 with a 4-1 victory over Timothy Verbrugghe in his last battle, as he won the group by 6 points at the Live Lounge. 

Verbrugghe and Scott Taylor will enter Group B after finishing 2nd and 3rd respectively, where they will be joined by Challenge Tour 6 winner Noa-Lynn van Leuven, Welshman Jon Worsley and Gibraltar’s Craig Galliano, who recently represented his nation at the PDC World Cup of Darts. 

Neil Duff, Paul Lewis and Brian Raman will join Group C which will start from 1pm on Thursday afternoon, with recent MODUS signing Daniel Stephenson, Antony Allen and Terry Nash completing the lineup. 

The MODUS Super Series will now turn to Group’s B and C, as the race to join Group A winner Jim McEwan begins at the Live Lounge on Thursday. 

MODUS Super Series 8 (Week 5)

3rd July 

Day 3 Results: 

Neil Duff 4-3 Paul Lewis 

Timothy Verbrugghe 4-1 Scott Taylor 

Jim McEwan 4-0 Brian Raman 

Scott Taylor 4-2 Paul Lewis 

Jim McEwan 4-0 Neil Duff

Timothy Verbrugghe 4-2 Brian Raman 

Jim McEwan 4-2 Paul Lewis 

Scott Taylor 4-0 Brian Raman 

Neil Duff 4-3 Timothy Verbrugghe 

Jim McEwan 4-0 Scott Taylor 

Timothy Verbrugghe 4-3 Paul Lewis 

Neil Duff 4-3 Brian Raman 

Jim McEwan 4-1 Timothy Verbrugghe 

Scott Taylor 4-2 Neil Duff 

Paul Lewis 4-3 Brian Raman 

Group A Final Table: 

  1. Jim McEwan: 24pts
  2. Timothy Verbrugghe: 18pts
  3. Scott Taylor: 16pts
  4. Neil Duff: 16pts
  5. Paul Lewis: 10pts
  6. Brian Raman: 6pts


Images: WSDT


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here