The Heat Is On Again.

Red Dragon Darts

Damon Heta denied Ryan Joyce to pick up 2nd title in a matter of weeks with PC16 success.

The Heat was victorious on Tuesday, clinching a second PDC ranking title in the space of a month.

The Aussie’s 8-4 victory over Relentless in the final of Players Championship 16, concluded the midweek Pro Tour double header at Leicester’s Morningside Arena.

Heta, who picked up his first title of the year at last month Players Championship 14 in Hildesheim, reached the final firstly by recording victories against Owen Roelofs, Owen Bates, Ricardo Pietreczko, Kevin Doets, James Wade and Joe Cullen, to set up a clash with Joyce.

Nothing separated the pair in the early stages of the final, with six straight holds of throw, ending with Heta breaking Joyce’s throw for the first time in Leg Seven with a 12 darter to move 4-3 ahead and halfway to victory.

‘The Heat’ then dominated the remainder of the final, with the Aussie Star winning four of the following five legs, sealing the victory in Leg 12 with an 11-dart hold of throw to pick up a second Pro Tour title in three events.

Joyce’s run to a first ranking final since his maiden PDC title success back in 2020 saw the Geordie ace record victories on the day against Richie Burnett, Steve Beaton, Rusty-Jake Rodriguez, Martin Schindler, Dirk Van Duijvenbode and Jose De Sousa, before being denied the chance to double his career title tally by Australia’s Number One.

Elsewhere, there were Quarter Final runs for Former Premier League Champion Jonny Clayton and the reigning UK Open Champion Andrew Gilding, with the likes of Monday’s PC15 winner Luke Humphries, as well as Former multiple World Champions in Gary Anderson and Raymond Van Barneveld amongst the high-profile names to suffer first round exits.

The day also saw Non-Tour Card Holder Christian Kist fire in a perfect leg during his Last 16 defeat to Gilding. The PDC Pro Tour returns on 26-27th August in Hildesheim with Players Championship Seventeen & Eighteen taking place, with the 128 players competing for £100,000 in prize money each day, with play beginning at 13:00 BST.

Play will be broadcasted across four streaming boards on PDC.TV and various bookmaker websites worldwide, with all live scores and results on

Players Championship 16

Last 16
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Christian Kist
Joe Cullen 6-1 Daryl Gurney
Damon Heta 6-2 Kevin Doets
James Wade 6-2 Vincent Van der Voort
Jose De Sousa 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Danny Noppert
Dirk Van Duijvenbode 6-1 Connor Scutt
Ryan Joyce 6-3 Martin Schindler

Quarter Finals
Joe Cullen 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Damon Heta 6-3 James Wade
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Ryan Joyce 6-4 Dirk Van Duijvenbode

Semi Finals
Damon Heta 7-2 Joe Cullen
Ryan Joyce 7-4 Jose De Sousa

Damon Heta 8-4 Ryan Joyce


Images: PDC

Grab a copy of the 50th Anniversary Darts World 581 here or the new Issue 583 here :

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack/bundle.Also Available Free: Darts World Extra 9 – Gezzy NiceDarts World Magazine‘s fantastic value bundles:
Subscribe or purchase your copy


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here