Price is Right Again

Red Dragon Darts Logo

Gerwyn Price picked up a third PDC title in the space of a fortnight on Tuesday, in winning Players Championship 21, after an 8-6 victory over Daniel Klose in the final.

The Pro Tour triple header concluded at Barnsley Metrodome. With a strong day for the established star names completing this batch.

Price, who picked up back-to-back titles in Hildesheim at the end of August, went all the way once again, as he reached the final by recording victories against Cameron Menzies, Vincent Van der Voort, Gian Van Veen, Niels Zonneveld, Danny Noppert and Daryl Gurney, to set up a clash with Germany’s Klose.


Catch up on the summer’s activity in the latest digital Darts World Extra 11

The final began with Price taking the opener in 13 darts, before Klose chased in front by winning back-to-back legs in a total of 27 darts to move 2-1 ahead as he looked to pick up a maiden PDC title in his debut season as a Tour Card Holder.

Price then moved back in front by winning three straight legs, before Klose won back-to-back legs once again to level the tie at 4 apiece in a race to eight.

The Former World Champion, Price, went on to win three of the following four legs, which saw the Welsh Star move within one of victory and leaving his German opponent needing to win three straight legs to keep his title hopes alive.

Klose did pull one leg back, before Price prevailed and sealed the victory in Leg 14 with a 13 dart hold of throw to pick up a third title in five events and a sixth of 2023.

Klose, who before play began on Tuesday had never made it past Round Two of a PDC ranked event, produced a fairy tale run to his first ever ranking final, as he recorded victories on the day against Devon Petersen, Gabriel Clemens, Michael Smith, Adam Gawlas, Chris Dobey and Peter Wright, before being denied by Price.

Elsewhere, there were Quarter Final runs for Monday’s PC20 Winner Luke Humphries and the Former UK Open Champion Danny Noppert, whilst the likes of Michael Van Gerwen, Jonny Clayton, Dave Chisnall and Damon Heta were amongst the high-profile names to suffer first round exits.

The day also saw a Nine Dart Leg hit by Welshman Robert Owen during his third-round defeat to Ritchie Edhouse.

The PDC Pro Tour returns on 27-29th September with Players Championship 22-24 taking place from Barnsley, with the 128 players competing for £100,000 in prize money each day.

Play will be broadcasted across four streaming boards on PDC.TV and various bookmaker websites worldwide, with all live scores and results on

Players Championship 21

Last 16
Ross Smith 6-5 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Gary Anderson
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Danny Noppert 6-5 Dirk Van Duijvenbode
Luke Humphries 6-5 Martin Schindler
Peter Wright 6-3 Ritchie Edhouse
Chris Dobey 6-3 Ryan Searle
Daniel Klose 6-3 Adam Gawlas

Quarter Finals
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Ross Smith
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Danny Noppert
Peter Wright 6-2 Luke Humphries
Daniel Klose 6-4 Chris Dobey

Semi Finals
Gerwyn Price 7-3 Daryl Gurney
Daniel Klose 7-3 Peter Wright

Gerwyn Price 8-6 Daniel Klose


Images: PDC

Grab a  50th Anniversary Darts World package 581 here or the most recent print Issue 583 here :

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack/bundle.

Also Available Free: Darts World Extra 11 – Summer Special

Darts World Magazine‘s fantastic value bundles:
Subscribe or purchase your copy


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here