McGuirk and Gillet Yake MSS Lead

Red Dragon Darts

Shane McGuirk and Mike Gillet took the early lead on Thursday in ending Day One of their respective groups, top, as they look to join Andreas Harrysson in Saturday’s finale at the Modus Super Series.

McGuirk, who last appeared at the Super Series back in June, made his return by taking the early lead in Group C.

Winning three of his five matches, as he recorded victories against Chris Wickenden, Alec Small and Cor Dekker, with his two defeats coming against Mikuru Suzuki and Ricky Palmer, to end the day on 6 points from a possible 10.


Catch up on the summer’s activity in the latest digital Darts World Extra 11

Elsewhere, Alec Small, Ricky Palmer and Mikuru Suzuki also ended the day on 6 points each, with the trio sitting 2nd, 3rd and 4th respectively behind McGuirk on leg difference, whilst Cor Dekker sits in 5th on 4 points and Chris Wickenden bottom on 2 points.

In Group B, Mike Gillet took the early lead, after completing a clean sweep with four wins from four, as he recorded victories against Haruki Muramatsu, Kevin Painter, Ryan Palmer and Tommy Lishman, dropping just seven legs along the way.

Haruki Muramatsu ended the night in 2nd on 6 points, whilst three players in Painter, Palmer and Lishman sit 3rd, 4th and 5th respectively on 2 points heading into the second and final day of Group B on Friday.

Modus Super Series continues on Friday with players continuing to battle out as they aim to join Sweden’s Andreas Harrysson in Saturday’s finale, with McGuirk and Gillet taking the early lead thus far.

Group C will commence from 1pm BST and Group B will commence from 10pm BST.

Play will be streamed live on the Modus YouTube channel, Sporty Stuff TV or via various bookmaker’ websites worldwide.

Modus Super Series Week Seven
Group C Day One

Thursday 21st September
Mikuru Suzuki 4-2 Ricky Palmer
Shane McGuirk 4-2 Chris Wickenden
Alec Small 4-3 Cor Dekker
Mikuru Suzuki 4-2 Shane McGuirk
Cor Dekker 4-3 Ricky Palmer
Alec Small 4-2 Chris Wickenden
Mikuru Suzuki 4-2 Cor Dekker
Shane McGuirk 4-2 Alec Small
Ricky Palmer 4-3 Chris Wickenden
Shane McGuirk 4-1 Cor Dekker
Chris Wickenden 4-2 Mikuru Suzuki
Ricky Palmer 4-2 Alec Small
Cor Dekker 4-2 Chris Wickenden
Ricky Palmer 4-3 Shane McGuirk
Alec Small 4-1 Mikuru Suzuki

Group B Day One
Kevin Painter 4-2 Ryan Palmer
Mike Gillet 4-2 Haruki Muramatsu
Ryan Palmer 4-2 Tommy Lishman
Mike Gillet 4-3 Kevin Painter
Haruki Muramatsu 4-2 Tommy Lishman
Mike Gillet 4-1 Ryan Palmer
Haruki Muramatsu 4-2 Kevin Painter
Mike Gillet 4-1 Tommy Lishman
Haruki Muramatsu 4-3 Ryan Palmer
Tommy Lishman 4-3 Kevin Painter


Images: MODUS

Grab a  50th Anniversary Darts World package 581 here or the most recent print Issue 583 here :

The Darts World 50 limited edition dart set is available to order (Here) in your choice of pack/bundle.

Also Available Free: Darts World Extra 11 – Summer Special

Darts World Magazine‘s fantastic value bundles:
Subscribe or purchase your copy


Latest articles

Newsletter Signup

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here